Table 1.

Introducing the 2019 Pisacano Scholars

ScholarInstitutionA few of their many accomplishments
Elana CurryOhio State University School of MedicineOSU Presidential Scholarship, Gold Humanism Honor Society, Founder—ENCompass; Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) President; Student rep to American Medical Association; Committee Member for OAFP; Founder—Auricular Acupuncture clinic for low-income communities
Elisa Glubok GonzalezWarren Alpert Medical School of Brown UniversityAmy Adina Schulman Scholarship; Health Policy Fellow—Mass Commission LGBTQ Youth; Research on Reproductive Healthcare in Cuba; Leader—Sex Ed by Brown Medicine; cofounder—Family Acceptance Task Force
Sarah HotovyUniversity of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC)Academic All-American Golfer; Fulbright awardee; Intern—Sen. Ben Nelson; AOA; Gold Humanism Honor Society; UNMC Student Regent; Board member—Nebraska Academy Family Physicians; copresident FMIG
Kyle LauUniversity of Minnesota Medical School (UMN)Phi Beta Kappa; AOA; Gold Humanism Honor Society; UMN Student Council class rep; Paul Ambrose Scholar; Founder—Utopian Slingshot; Intern—Minnesota State House of Representatives
Shauna Milne-PriceWWAMI-Montana Program, University of Washington School of MedicineAOA; Gold Humanism Honor Society; Former Assistant Field Director—Johns Hopkins Center for American Indian Health; TRUST Rural Scholar; spearheaded development of collaborative mental health clinic in Montana
  • OSU, Ohio State University; OAFP, Ohio Academy of Family Medicine; LGBTQ, Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transexual Queer; AOA, Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Society; WWAMI, Washington Wyoming Alaska Montana Idaho.