## **BOARD NEWS**

## American Board of Family Medicine Elects New Officers and Board Members

Jane Ireland

The American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) is pleased to announce the election of 4 new officers and 3 new board members. The new officers elected at the ABFM's spring board meeting in April are Keith L. Stelter, MD, of Mankato, Minnesota, elected as Chair; Elizabeth G. Baxley, MD, of Greenville, North Carolina, elected as Chair-Elect; Christine C. Matson, MD, of Norfolk, Virginia, elected as Treasurer; and Montgomery Douglas, MD, of Farmington, Connecticut, elected as Member-at-Large, Executive Committee. The new ABFM officers will each serve a 1-year term.

Dr. Stelter is the associate director of the Mankato



Family Medicine Residency Program in Mankato, Minnesota, and an instructor with the Rural Physician Associate Program of the University of Minnesota Medical School. He maintains an active clinical practice in hospital, clinic, and nursing home settings. Dr. Stelter will serve the ABFM on the Executive Committee as its chair.

Dr. Baxley is a professor of Family Medicine and



the Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University, where she has served since 2012. Before joining the faculty at Brody, she spent 18 years at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine, serving as Residency Director, and later as Chair, of the

Conflict of interest: The author is the communications editor for the ABFM.

Department of Family and Preventive Medicine. Dr. Baxley will serve the ABFM on the Executive Committee, the Bylaws Committee, the Credentials Committee, the Examination Committee, the Audit/Finance Committee, the Research & Development Committee as its chair, and the Certification Committee.

**Dr. Matson** is Professor and Chair of the Depart-



ment of Family and Community Medicine at East-Virginia Medical School. She has served as Associate Dean for Education, Director of the Family Medicine Residency Program, and Co-Director of the Family Medicine/Internal Medicine Combined Residency Program in Norfolk, Virginia. Dr. Matson will serve the ABFM on the Executive

Committee, the Bylaws Committee as its chair, the Credentials Committee, the Examination Committee, the Audit/Finance Committee as its chair, the Research & Development Committee, the Communications/Publications Committee, and the Certification Committee.

**Dr. Douglas** is Chair of the Department of Fam-



ily Medicine at the University of Connecticut School of Medicine and Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center. He previously served as Chairman of the Department of Family and Community Medicine and Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion at New York Medical College. Dr. Douglas

will serve the ABFM on the Executive Committee, the Bylaws Committee, the Credentials Committee, the Operations Committee, the Audit/Finance Committee, the Research & Development Committee, and the Certification Committee as its chair.

In addition, the ABFM welcomes this year's 3 new members to the Board of Directors: Wendy Biggs, MD, of Overland Park, Kansas; Christopher A. Cunha, MD, of Crestview Hills, Kentucky; and Michael K. Magill, MD, of Salt Lake City, Utah.

**Dr. Biggs** is an associate professor and the Family



Medicine Residency Program Director at the University of Kansas Medical Center. She is on the board of directors of the Kansas Academy of Family Physicians and serves on the Graduate Medical Education Committee for the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine. Biggs will serve the ABFM on the Credentials Committee and the Certification Committee.

Dr. Cunha is the cofounder of Pediatric As-



sociates, PSC, in Crestview Hills, Kentucky, and also served for 18 years as Managing Partner. He has served on the board of directors of the American Board of Pediatrics since 2012, currently serving Chairman, and has served as Chairman of the Tristate PHO at

Cincinnati Children's Hospital since 2007. Dr. Cunha will serve the ABFM on the Examination Committee and the Communications/Publications Committee.

Dr. Magill is Professor and Chairman of the



Department of Family and Preventive Medicine at the University of Utah School of Medicine and serves as the director of the Utah Area Health Education Centers Program at the University of Utah. He previously served for 10 years as the executive medical director of the University of Utah Hospitals and Clinics/Community Physician Group. Dr. Magill will serve the ABFM on

the Operations Committee and the Research & Development Committee.

The remaining current members of the Board are John Brady, MD, of Newport News, Virginia; Colleen Conry, MD, of Aurora, Colorado; Joseph Gravel, Jr, MD, of Lawrence, Massachusetts; James Kennedy, MD, of Winter Park, Colorado; Jerry E. Kruse, MD, MSPH, of Springfield, Illinois; Lorna Anne Lynn, MD, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; David W. Mercer, MD, of Omaha, Nebraska; Marcia J. Nielsen, PhD, MPH, of Washington, DC; Robert J. Ronis, MD, MPH, of Cleveland, Ohio; David E. Soper, MD, of Charleston, South Carolina; and Melissa Thomason of Pinetops, North Carolina.