BOARD NEWS

American Board of Family Medicine Elects New Officers and Board Members

Jane Ireland

The American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) is pleased to announce the election of 4 new officers and 4 new board members. The new officers elected at the ABFM's spring board meeting in April are James Kennedy, MD, of Winter Park, Colorado, elected as Chair; Keith Stelter, MD, of Mankato, Minnesota, as Chair-Elect; Jimmy H. Hara, MD, of Los Angeles, California, as Treasurer; and Christine C. Matson, MD, of Norfolk, Virginia, as Member-at-Large, Executive Committee. In addition, the ABFM welcomes this year's new members to the board of directors: John Brady, MD, of Newport News, Virginia; Colleen Conry, MD, of Aurora, Colorado; Robert J. Ronis, MD, MPH, of Cleveland, Ohio; and Melissa Thomason of Pinetops, North Carolina.

The new ABFM officers each will serve a 1-year term.

James Kennedy, MD, Chair, is a practic



ing family physician in Winter Park, Colorado, where he started a new Advanced Idealized Micropractice in 2005. He is also the chair of the County Medical Society and the Rural Health Network in his community. In addition, Dr. Kennedy has served as an

assistant/associate professor of Family Medicine at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center

Conflict of interest: The author is the communications editor for the ABFM.

since 1994. Dr. Kennedy will serve the ABFM on the Executive Committee as its chair.

Keith L. Stelter, MD, Chair-Elect, is the as-



sociate director of the Mankato Family Medicine Residency Program in Mankato, Minnesota, and an instructor with the Rural Physician Associate Program of the University of Minnesota Medical School. Dr. Stelter will serve the ABFM on the Executive Committee, the Bylaws

Committee, the Credentials Committee, the Operations Committee, the Audit/Finance Committee, the Communications/Publications Committee, the MC-FP Committee, and the Examination Committee as its chair.

Jimmy H. Hara, MD, Treasurer, serves as



associate dean and professor of Family Medicine at Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science. He is the residency program director emeritus, after serving 25 years as director for Kaiser Los Angeles. Dr. Hara is also a clinical

professor of Family Medicine at the David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California, Los Angeles. Dr. Hara will serve the ABFM on the Executive Committee, the Operations Committee, the Examination Committee, the Research & Development Committee, the MC-FP Committee, the Bylaws Committee as its chair, and the Audit/Finance Committee as its chair.

Christine C. Matson, MD, Member-at-



Large, Executive Committee, is professor and chair of the Department of Family and Community Medicine at Eastern Virginia Medical School. She has served as director of the Family Medicine Residency Program and co-director of the Family Medicine of the Family Medicine Medicine Committee to the Family Medicine of the Family Medicine Medicine Committee to the Family Medicine Committee to the Family Medicine of the Family Medicine Committee to the Family Medicin

cine/Internal Medicine Combined Residency Program in Norfolk, Virginia. Dr. Matson will serve the ABFM on the Executive Committee, the Bylaws Committee, the Credentials Committee, the Examination Committee, the Audit/Finance Committee, the Research & Development Committee, the MC-FP Committee, and the Communications/Publications Committee as its chair.

The following new Board members each will serve a 5-year term.

John Brady, MD, is the owner/physician of



The Village Doctor, a solo, independent family practice he opened in Newport News, Virginia, in 2003. He is the president of the Ideal Medical Practices organization and is an assistant professor in the Department of Family and Community Medicine at

Eastern Virginia Medical School. Dr. Brady will serve the ABFM on the Examination Committee and the MC-FP Committee.

Colleen Conry, MD, is the senior vice-presi-



dent for quality and clinical affairs in the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Colorado. She previously served as vice-chair of graduate medical education at the University of Colorado. Dr. Conry will serve the ABFM on the Research & Devel-

opment Committee and the Communications/ Publications Committee. She will also serve as a representative to the Residency Review Committee.

Robert J. Ronis, MD, MPH, is the Douglas



Danford Bond professor and chairman for the Department of Psychiatry, the associate director for the Neurological Institute, and psychiatrist-inchief for the University Hospitals Case Medical Center at Case Western University School of Medicine. Dr. Ronis will

serve the ABFM on the Credentials Committee and the Communications/Publications Committee.

Melissa Thomason has been a Vidant Health



patient and family advisor since 2011 and has participated as a patient advocate and speaker throughout the country. She currently serves on North Carolina Quality Center's Patient and Family Advisory Council, National Quality

Forum's Surgery Standing Committee, and North Carolina Institute of Medicine's Patient and Family Engagement Taskforce. Ms. Thomason will serve the ABFM on the Credentials Committee and the Communications/Publications Committee.

The remaining current members of the Board are Elizabeth G. Baxley, MD, of Greenville, North Carolina; Laura M. Brooks, MD, of Lynchburg, Virginia; Montgomery Douglas, MD, of Valhalla, New York; Joseph Gravel, Jr., MD, of North Reading, Massachusetts; Carlos Roberto Jaén, MD, of San Antonio, Texas; Jerry Kruse, MD, MSPH, of Springfield, Illinois; Lorna Lynn, MD, of Wynnewood, Pennsylvania; David E. Mercer, MD, of Omaha, Nebraska; Marcia J. Nielsen, PhD, of Washington, DC; and David Soper, MD, of Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina.