## American Board of Family Medicine Elects New Officers and Board Members

The American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) is pleased to announce the election of 4 new officers and 3 new board members. The new officers and board members elected at the ABFM's spring board meeting in April are as follows: Frank Kane, MD (Newton, NJ), elected as Chair; Deborah Haynes, MD (Wichita, KS), Vice Chair; Richard Clover, MD (Louisville, KY), Treasurer; and Karen Mitchell, MD (Southfield, MI), Member-at-Large, Executive Committee. In addition, the ABFM welcomes this year's new members to the Board of Directors: Larry R. Green, MD (Denver, CO); Alain Montegut, MD (Portland, ME); and Daniel Winstead, MD (New Orleans, LA).

Following are brief biographies of the new officers, who each will serve a 1-year term:



Frank Kane, MD, Chair, has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2001. He is in private practice in Newton, NJ and has been an involved leader of family medicine at the local and national levels. He serves as Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Family Practice at the Robert Wood

Johnson Medical School and is also chair of the Department of Family Practice at St. Clare's Hospital in Denville, NJ. Dr. Kane serves as an exofficio of all ABFM Committees.



Deborah G. Haynes, MD, Vice Chair, has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2001. Dr. Haynes has a full-spectrum private family practice in Wichita, KS. She was previously on faculty at St. Joseph's Hospital Family Practice Residency Program. She has been a consistent leader in

state and national family practice organizations. Dr. Haynes serves as a Clinical Associate Professor teaching residents and medical students at the University of Kansas School of Medicine and is a member of the teaching staff at Wesley Medical Center in Wichita. She currently serves on the ABFM Executive Committee, the Bylaws Committee as its Chair, the Finance Committee, and the Communications/Publication Committee.



Richard D. Clover, MD, Treasurer, has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2002. Dr. Clover is the Acting Dean of the School of Public Health/Health Information Sciences and the Associate Vice President for Health Affairs/ Health Informatics at the University of Louisville; William Ray Moore Endowed Chair in

Humanism, University of Louisville Department of Family and Community Medicine; and Director of the Center for the Deterrence of Biowarfare and Bioterrorism at the University of Louisville. He currently serves on the ABFM Executive Committee, the Research and Development Committee, the Examination Committee; and serves as Chair of the Finance Committee and the Information and Technology Committee.



Karen B. Mitchell, MD, Member-at-Large, Executive Committee, has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2002. Dr. Mitchell is the Associate Residency Director of the Providence Family Practice Residency Program in Southfield, MI. Dr. Mitchell feels that her passion in Family

Practice is ensuring quality of care and improving

http://www.jabfp.org 447

the health of all people. Her involvement in teaching is a very conscious choice, because it is a way in which she can help uphold the standards of competence in Family Medicine and motivate physicians to continue their own quality improvement. She currently serves on the Executive Committee, the Credentials Committee, the Research and Development Committee as Chair, the Finance Committee, and the Examination Committee.

The following new Board members will each serve a 5-year term:



Larry A. Green, MD, has served the University of Colorado in Denver as Program Director and Chair in Family Medicine and was a contributor in the development of the Ambulatory Sentinel Practice Network. He assisted with the establishment of the Robert Graham Center in Washing-

ton, DC, where he now serves as Senior Scholar in Residence. He currently directs the Prescription for Health, a 5-year program of The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in partnership with the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality. He is a recipient of the Hames and Wood Awards for career and lifetime research accomplishments and has been elected to the Institute of Medicine. Dr. Green will serve the ABFM on the Research and Development Committee and the Examination Committee.



Alain Montegut, MD, has been a family physician for almost 25 years and has practiced in both a solo and a 30-physician group setting. He is currently the Program Director of the Family Medicine Residency Program at Maine

Medical Center in Portland and is also the Director of the Division of International Family Medicine Education and a clinician with Casco Bay Family Physicians. Dr. Montegut will serve on the ABFM Credentials Committee and the Communications/Publications Committee.



Daniel Winstead, MD, is the Robert G. Heath Professor and Chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Neurology at Tulane University School of Medicine. He is also Staff Psychiatrist at Tulane University Hospital and Clinic, DePaul/Tulane Behavioral Health Center, and the Veterans Affairs Medical Center. He serves

as a Consultant Psychiatrist at the Feliciana Forensic Facility in Jackson, LA, and Senior Visiting Physician in Psychiatry at the Medical Center of Louisiana in New Orleans. Much of Dr. Winstead's career has been involved in teaching and writing in the field of psychosomatic medicine, consultation/liaison psychiatry, and geriatric psychiatry. Dr. Winstead will serve on the ABFM Information and Technology Committee.

The remaining current members of the Board are: Ross R. Black, II, MD (Cuyahoga Falls, OH); H. James Brown, MD (Syracuse, NY); Elizabeth Ann Garrett, MD (Columbia, MO); Joseph Hobbs, MD (Augusta, GA); David W. Price, MD (Broomfield, CO); Dennis R. Schaberg, MD (Memphis, TN); Russell R. Snyder, MD (Galveston, TX); and Jon S. Thompson, MD (Omaha, NE). The ABFM Board of Directors looks forward to working with the new members as it moves forward with its plans for implementation of the Maintenance of Certification for Family Physicians (MC-FP) and the important task of sustaining the mission of the ABFM.